Due to illness, all orders will be processed only after June 25th, 2024. Thank you for your understanding.
Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 48

Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 48

back to list

Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 48

  • Autor:

    Figuš-Bystrý, Viliam

  • Category:


  • ISMN:


  • Published:


  • Number of pages:


  • Difficulty:

  • Price incl. VAT:


  • Price without VAT:


  • Doprava na Slovensko zdarma
  • Stock status:

    In stock


Figuš, through his chamber music, drew upon the traditions of European classicism and romanticism and, with several of his works, introduced into Slovak music culture many genres and ensembles that had previously been absent from domestic repertoire. A prominent place in his chamber works is occupied by compositions for piano and string formations, and his creative tendencies in this field culminate in his Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 48, from 1918, which marks the beginning of the history of this genre in Slovak music.

Figuš's Piano Quartet consists of four movements: I. Allegro ma non troppo - II. Adagio - III. Scherzo: Allegro - Finale: Allegretto. The generous formal outline, rich melodic invention, and sensitivity to the composition of the piano quartet, honed through extensive practice as a chamber musician, gave rise to one of the most representative chamber works of Slovak music in the first half of the 20th century. The piece is being published for the first time since its inception as a printed score and parts.