• 1953 – 1958

    Conservatory in Košice, clarinet

  • 1958 – 1963

    Academy of Music and Drama in Bratislava, clarinet and composition (Ján Cikker, Oto Ferenczy, Ľudovít Rajter); editor of the Czechoslovak Radio Bratislava

  • 1961

    founder of the Bratislava Jazz Quartet

  • 1962

    International Jazz Festival in Carlsbad (award for the best performance); first Slovak modern jazz radio recordings (Nat Adderley: See of Woe; L. Gerhardt: Večerná nálada [Evening Mood] etc.)

  • 1963

    Bratislava Jazz Quartet fell apart; founded the Trio, composed jazz themes for them (Ingrid, Pyramída [Pyramide], Zamyslenie [Reflection], Zátišie s tulipánmi [Still-life with Tulips]); International Jazz Festival Prague (IJFP 1964, 1966, 1978...)

  • 1965 – 1968

    playing in Bratislava’s clubs with the Bratislava Combo, Gustav Offermann Combo etc., focusing on popular music

  • 1969 – 1973

    radio editor again

  • from 1970

    member of a duo with Karol Ondreička, giving guest appearances to numerous jazzmen (Dušan Húščava, Lubomír Tamaškovič, Jozef Brisuda, Anton Jaro, Jozef „Dodo” Šošoka, Cyril Zeleňák etc.)

  • 1976 – 1982

    Bratislava Jazz Days with the Ladislav Gerhardt Quintet

  • 1970’s – 1980’s

    arranger for musicals abroad (Cole Porter: Kiss me, Kate; Vincent Yomans: No, No Nanette etc.); composition: Blues for Angela Davis (1971); Jazz Melodrama based on texts by children tortured to death by fascism (1972, lyrics adaptation by Tomáš Janovic); Images and Reminiscence for jazz sextet and symphonic orchestra (1972, commissioned by the Košice Philharmonic); music for Miroslav Válek’s TV poetry programme Art Gallery (1975); film music: They Are Not Playing Blues For Me (1964, dir. Jozef Medveď), 322 (1969, dir. Dušan Hanák); music for William Saroyan’s play The Time of Your Life (1973, dir. Jozef Budský); music for children: How the Little Wolf Wandered Across the World (1973, television series), Marbles (1982, film musical, dir. Peter Stoličný), Matthew the Shepherd (television series, dir. M. Čermák)

  • 1992

    Award for lifetime achievement and jazz promotion